Skip to main content

Leslie J. Savage Library

Homepage

Western's Information Literacy Plan

After New Student Orientation Week, the student will:

  • Be familiar with the library staff.
  • Be familiar with the library building.
  • Be familiar with circulation (access) procedures.
  • Be familiar with available library services.
  • Know how to contact a librarian.

Method of Instruction:

Students visit the library during New Student Orientation as part of the Academic Resources "Block" of activities. These meetings take place the Thursday, Friday, and Saturday during the week before classes begin.

During the library portion of the block, students are introduced to the library staff and are able to discover our library building while doing fun activities. The purpose of the orientation is to introduce students to the library, library staff, and our services and resources that are available.

 

Scheduling:

These orientation sessions are scheduled internally by ARC and Library staff members.

After completing HWTR 100 (First Year Seminar), the student will be able to:

  • Identify where to find authority information for several types of information sources.
    • Frame 1: Authority Is Constructed and Contextual
    • Standard 2: Access the Needed Information
  • Understand that many types of information sources exist.
    • Frame 2: Information Creation as a Process
    • Standard 1Determine the Extent of Information Needed
  • Access the library webpage.
    • Frame 3: Information Has Value
    • Standard 2: Access the Needed Information
  • Understand that many resources and services are available to them.
    • Frame 4: Research as Inquiry
    • Standard 2: Access the Needed Information
  • Work collaboratively in small groups.
    • Frame 5: Scholarship as Conversation
    • Standard 2: Access the Needed Information
  • Explore several online tools in order to evaluate an information source.
    • Frame 6: Searching as Strategic Exploration
    • Standard 2: Access the Needed Information
  • Understand the importance of proper citation and correct usage of information sources.
    • Frame 3: Information Has Value
    • Standard 5: Access and Use Information Ethically and Legally
  • Employ a basic search.
    • Frame 6: Searching as Strategic Exploration
    • Standard 2: Access the Needed Information

Method of Instruction:

HWTR 100 courses each have one library workshop in which students work in groups to explore various online tools to evaluate a provided piece of information. Students then come to the front in groups and teach the rest of the class about the tools they explored. HWTR 100 workshops focus on information found online, such as popular news sources, social media, fake news, and multimedia.

 

Scheduling:

Please contact Renée Barney (rbarney@western.edu) in order to schedule library workshops. Please be aware that slots fill up fast, so try to schedule your workshops as early as possible. Thanks!

After completing COM 202, the student will be able to:

  • Define "peer-reviewed".
    • Frame 1: Authority Is Constructed and Contextual
    • Standard 1: Determine the Extent of Information Needed
  • Identify the credentials of an author or other responsible party.
    • Frame 1: Authority Is Constructed and Contextual
    • Standard 3: Evaluate Information and its Sources Critically
  • Assess the usefulness of an information source to a particular information need.
    • Frame 1: Authority Is Constructed and Contextual
    • Standard 3: Evaluate Information and its Sources Critically
  • Identify the characteristics of primary and secondary information sources.
    • Frame 2: Information Creation as a Process
    • Standard 3: Evaluate Information and its Sources Critically
  • Identify the characteristics of scholarly and popular information sources.
    • Frame 2: Information Creation as a Process
    • Standard 3: Evaluate Information and its Sources Critically
  • Create proper citations in the appropriate format.
    • Frame 3: Information Has Value
    • Standard 5: Access and Use Information Ethically and Legally
  • Recognize the importance of employing proper citation.
    • Frame 3: Information Has Value
    • Standard 5: Access and Use Information Ethically and Legally
  • Identify & avoid types of plagiarism.
    • Frame 3: Information Has Value
    • Standard 5: Access and Use Information Ethically and Legally
  • Access the class guide and library website.
    • Frame 3: Information Has Value
    • Standard 2: Access the Needed Information
  • Employ Prospector to request resources from other libraries.
    • Frame 3: Information Has Value
    • Standard 2: Access the Needed Information
  • Implement a search in multiple databases in order to satisfy the information need.
    • Frame 4: Research as Inquiry
    • Standard 1: Determine the Extent of Information Needed
  • Save electronic resources via appropriate avenues.
    • Frame 4: Research as Inquiry
    • Standard 4: Use Information Effectively to Accomplish a Specific Purpose
  • Use the services available to them through the Writing Center, tutoring, and Supplemental Instruction.
    • Frame 4: Research as Inquiry
    • Standard 4: Use Information Effectively to Accomplish a Specific Purpose
  • Utilize a bibliography to find more resources.
    • Frame 4: Research as Inquiry
    • Standard 4: Use Information Effectively to Accomplish a Specific Purpose
  • Identify the scope of the information needed.
    • Frame 4: Research as Inquiry
    • Standard 1: Determine the Extent of Information Needed
  • Recognize "evidence" in terms of academic research.
    • Frame 5: Scholarship as Conversation
    • Standard 3: Evaluate Information and its Sources Critically
  • Work with peers in the class or discipline to advance their knowledge base.
    • Frame 5: Scholarship as Conversation
    • Standard 2: Access the Needed Information
  • Employ basic limiters in the interdisciplinary databases.
    • Frame 6: Searching as Strategic Exploration
    • Standard 2: Access the Needed Information
  • Utilize advanced searching techniques in the interdisciplinary databases, including basic Boolean logic.
    • Frame 6: Searching as Strategic Exploration
    • Standard 2: Access the Needed Information
  • Select appropriate keywords.
    • Frame 6: Searching as Strategic Exploration
    • Standard 2: Access the Needed Information
  • Utilize controlled vocabulary limiters in the interdisciplinary databases.
    • Frame 6: Searching as Strategic Exploration
    • Standard 2: Access the Needed Information

Method of Instruction:

The librarian presents a workshop 1-3 times during the semester, at strategic points in student learning. Also, one-on-one research consultations are available to students who would like extra help during the research process. COM 202 workshops focus on finding, evaluating, and citing academic sources and various perspectives on current issues.

Example:

I may come to the classroom for 10 or 15 minutes in the first week of class to discuss methods & resources for discovering research topics. Then, the class could meet in the library classroom, with the librarian, at various times during the semester in order to discuss search strategies and resources for their research projects. Usually, these library workshops happen just before students begin the persuasion and policy portions of the COM 202 research project. One-on-one research consultations (between student and librarian) are an option throughout the semester to give students extra help in the research process.

 

Scheduling:

Please contact Renée Barney (rbarney@western.edu) in order to schedule library workshops. Please be aware that slots fill up fast, so try to schedule your workshops as early as possible. Thanks!

At graduation, the student will be able to:

  • Understand the definition of authority in the discipline.
    • Frame 1: Authority Is Constructed and Contextual
    • Standard 3: Evaluate Information and its Sources Critically
  • Evaluate an information source to discover the usefulness, purpose, accuracy, authority, relevance, and currency of the source.
    • Frame 1: Authority Is Constructed and Contextual
    • Standard 3: Evaluate Information and its Sources Critically
  • Understand the peer-review process in the discipline.
    • Frame 1: Authority Is Constructed and Contextual
    • Standard 3: Evaluate Information and its Sources Critically
  • Identify the characteristics of different types of sources that are relevant to the discipline.
    • Frame 2: Information Creation as a Process
    • Standard 3: Evaluate Information and its Sources Critically
  • Transfer high-level research ability and knowledge between disciplines.
    • Frame 2: Information Creation as a Process
    • Standard 4: Use Information Effectively to Accomplish a Specific Purpose
  • Create proper citations in the appropriate format for the discipline.
    • Frame 3: Information Has Value
    • Standard 5: Access and Use Information Ethically and Legally
  • Understand the issues relating to censorship and the freedom to information.
    • Frame 3: Information Has Value
    • Standard 5: Access and Use Information Ethically and Legally
  • Employ Interlibrary Loan and Prospector to request items from other libraries.
    • Frame 3: Information Has Value
    • Standard 2: Access the Needed Information
  • Understand economic, social, and legal issues relating to the accession and creation of information sources in the discipline.
    • Frame 3: Information Has Value
    • Standard 5: Access and Use Information Ethically and Legally
  • Conduct interviews and surveys in an ethical and legal manner.
    • Frame 3: Information Has Value
    • Standard 5: Access and Use Information Ethically and Legally
  • Access the library website, class guides, database indexes, and other resources to find information sources.
    • Frame 3: Information Has Value
    • Standard 2: Access the Needed Information
  • Organize resources, both electronic and print, via appropriate avenues.
    • Frame 4: Research as Inquiry
    • Standard 4: Use Information Effectively to Accomplish a Specific Purpose
  • Utilize the services available to them through the Exploratory Center.
    • Frame 4: Research as Inquiry
    • Standard 4: Use Information Effectively to Accomplish a Specific Purpose
  • Formulate a manageable research topic.
    • Frame 4: Research as Inquiry
    • Standard 1: Determine the Extent of Information Needed
  • Identify what constitutes valid evidence in the discipline.
    • Frame 5: Scholarship as Conversation
    • Standard 3: Evaluate Information and its Sources Critically
  • Execute proper protocols in research and creation for the discipline.
    • Frame 5: Scholarship as Conversation
    • Standard 5: Access and Use Information Ethically and Legally
  • Utilize indexes in general and discipline specific databases to find appropriate controlled vocabulary.
    • Frame 6: Searching as Strategic Exploration
    • Standard 2: Access the Needed Information
  • Employ advanced use of keywords and controlled vocabulary in general and discipline specific databases.
    • Frame 6: Searching as Strategic Exploration
    • Standard 2: Access the Needed Information
  • Develop advanced search strings using Boolean and proximity operators.
    • Frame 6: Searching as Strategic Exploration
    • Standard 2: Access the Needed Information
  • Employ advanced limiters in general and discipline specific databases.
    • Frame 6: Searching as Strategic Exploration
    • Standard 2: Access the Needed Information

Method of Instruction:

Determined on a case-by-case method.

 

Example:

In the ENVS program, I meet with students in ENVS 100, 200, 350, 360, AND 397. These workshops are specialized to investigate search strategies and resources that are most helpful in the environmental sciences and for advanced research projects.

 

Scheduling:

Please contact Renée Barney (rbarney@western.edu) to schedule workshops. It is best if we work together to determine which courses in the program would be the best fits for library instruction. Then, we can decide what skills to teach in each course so we are sure to cover all necessary skills at the appropriate times. There will always be some repetition, but we want to avoid having several identical workshops.

At the completion of a master's degree at Western, the student will be able to:

  • Identify the issues for distance learners relating to accessing information sources.
    • Frame 3: Information Has Value
    • Standard 5: Access and Use Information Ethically and Legally
  • Understand institutional policies regarding consent and access.
    • Frame 3: Information Has Value
    • Standard 5: Access and Use Information Ethically and Legally
  • Be well-read in discipline specific information sources.
    • Frame 5: Scholarship as Conversation
    • Standard 5: Access and Use Information Ethically and Legally
  • Conduct a thorough literature review.
    • Frame 5: Scholarship as Conversation
    • Standard 3: Evaluate Information and its Sources Critically

Method of Instruction:

A librarian has an orientation session with each graduate program during their residencies. We discuss search strategies and available resources, but we also include information about how to access library resources from anywhere in the world. We introduce the graduate cohorts to our Graduate & Online Students guide: http://libguides.western.edu/graduate-online

 

Scheduling:

Please contact Renée Barney (rbarney@western.edu) to schedule a graduate orientation session.

Loading

Additional Library Instruction

If you feel your students, in any course, need a refresher or some extra library instruction, I am happy to conduct a library workshop at anytime. Contact me to schedule a workshop and let me know what skills you feel we should cover.

 

Renée Barney

rbarney@western.edu

970-943-2898